The News – Capital Media
The News – Capital Media
  • Woods spared penalty because of high-tech video evidence

, Tiger Woods adjusts his sunglasses before hitting from the seventh hole during the first round of the Hero World Challenge at the Albany Golf Club in Nassau, Bahamas, Thursday, Nov. 29, 2018. Woods now is No. 13 in the world as he hosts this holiday tournament for the 20th time. (AP Photo/Dante Carrer)

30 of November 2018 21:39:05

NASSAU, Bahamas (AP) — Tiger Woods avoided a penalty for hitting the ball twice because of an 18-month-old rule that limits the use of advanced TV replays.

Woods was in a palm bush right of the 18th fairway Friday in the Hero World Challenge when he took a short back swing and tried to punch the ball back into play. Questions arose whether the ball stayed on the club too long, and PGA Tour officials reviewed the shot.

Chief rules official Mark Russell says only when they used high-definition replay in slow motion were they able to detect that Woods hit the ball twice. Woods says he didn't feel the club make contact more than once.

The decision from May 2017 says that when penalties are not applied when a violation could not reasonably be seen with the naked eye.


ShareShare FBShare TWShare WA

Most Popular