The News – Capital Media
The News – Capital Media
  • Chivas are the True 'Subcampeonísimo'

  • Chivas have won more second place titles in the Liga MX — not the usual suspects, Cruz Azul

, photo: Cuartoscuro/Fernando Carranza Garcia

04 of November 2016 14:27:35

Cruz Azul is coming up on an unfortunate record of their own: 20 years without a Liga MX title. In December of 1997 they were crowned champions ahead of León, claiming their eighth title. Since then, the team has remained on the sidelines, even outside of Mexico.The series of failures for the title has given the team the nickname “Subcampeonísimo” (Super Second Place Winners), however, it is not the team that has lost the most finals in Mexico.After losing on penalties against Queretaró in the Copa MX final, Chivas Rayades de Guadalajara (The Striped Goats of Guadalajara) totaled 21-second places titles.In fact, Cruz Azul is in third place for teams with the most second place titles, behind América, who has 17.Although Cruz Azul is the team who has lost the Liga MX the most times in the final match, it only tallies 16-second place titles.


ShareShare FBShare TWShare WA

Most Popular